Words Fail – Capilano Suspension Bridge’s Clever Marketing

As you know, I was recently in Vancouver for a short vacation. It’s been 4 years since my last visit and I had completely forgotten how beautiful the city really is!  I decided to be a tourist too, in my own country for a change and made sure to visit all the sites and attractions that Vancouver had to offer.

If you haven’t visited the Capilano Suspension Bridge, it really is quite beautiful there.  What made the experience more memorable though was the marketing campaign they were running all across the city! (Hey, I never denied being a total marketing geek…)  If you haven’t seen – it is the “Words Fail” campaign by Spring Advertising.

Here’s the creative from the campaign (courtesy of Spring Advertising):

Capilano - Words Fail

Capilano Suspension Bridge - Words Fail 1

Capilano Suspension Bridge Vancouver - Words Fail

Capilano Bridge Vancouver - Words Fail

Campaign: Word Fail
Agency: Spring Advertising
Client: Capilano Suspension Bridge Park
Sector: Tourism

— —

I think it’s brilliant! I remember seeing the “Increbidle” ad for the first time and feeling so smart for spotting a spelling mistake!  The feeling lasted until I saw the tagline under the Capilano Bridge logo – “Words Fail” .  The campaign not only got the message across through to me, it left a lasting impression too!  Made me laugh, that’s for sure.

In a city with so much to offer, and competing with so many other attractions – this ad made the Bridge stand out.  It highlighted the beauty of the spot, promoted how exhilarating the experience would be across the bridge and on the cliffwalk while showing wit and personality.

The ads however, do not have a corresponding landing page and does not carry over to the official website for the Suspension Bridge.  I really wish there was a digital component to this campaign – I would’ve loved to see what they came up with!

Follow me on Twitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

