Marketing Mantras of 2014

So here we go 2014… a new year means another opportunity to take the lessons we have learned in the past years and make something of them.  Reflecting on the past years and looking ahead to the goals I have for the year, here are my Marketing Mantras to help me stay focused and grounded:

  1. Always start with “Why”
    Whether it is in business, or more specifically in marketing, all businesses should ask be guided by the reasons why they do what they do and not the what or how.  I’ve written about Simon Sinek’s concept of the Gold Circle before and reading this article from Adage from Coca Cola’s Wendy Clark, titled All Marketing Strategies Should Start With ‘Why’ reminded me once again how important this concept really is.  I particularly love this quote from the article:

    “When we lead with the product (what) and not our mission (why), our decisions get smaller, our perspective less brave, our work less memorable, our world impact more limited.”

  2. Tell the Story
    Blake Mycoskie of TOMS Shoes said “The story is what’s going to get people excited.” Well that makes a lot of sense, doesn’t it?  You can talk about the product features, your excellent service record, but those aren’t the words that will create an emotional bond with your customers.  People don’t like to be sold and they buy from people they like.

    The Story is What's Going to Get People Excited - Blake MycoskieImage Source: Pardot

  3. What You Can’t Measure, You Can’t Improve
    2013 was the year of Google Analytics was for.  I realized just how powerful the tool is and what kind of reporting I can have my sites.  2014 I will be getting geeky about acquisitions and conversions to determine ROI on activities, digging deeper into onsite behaviour and finally experiencing what it’ll be like without keyword data. It will also be a year of A/B testing, of trying again and again to figure out the best approaches.

3 to start, but I’m sure I’ll be adding a few more to this list soon!

Follow me on Twitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

