Real Talk #1

It’s been a while since I’ve checked in last – and wow, have I missed this blog! That’s ok – between settling in at my new job, starting a new project management course, and travelling (finally to Chicago and last month to Halifax), life’s been keeping me very inspired.

I will be celebrating 5 months this week at my new job! Can’t believe how fast the time has gone by. I still think of it as my new job in many ways because everyday, I am still adjusting, still learning and still soaking it all in.  With any new job comes a new schedule, new lessons and plenty of adjustments.  You face new situations, get asked new questions and your perspectives are challenged for the better.  Expectations are also higher – both the ones you have of yourself and from others.  It’s both what’s exciting and exhausting about starting something new.

In my attempt to manage all this change, I also found that it was easy to get lost in the day to day challenges and lose track of the bigger picture.  This past week, I had the opportunity to attend a career fair that was organized by the college that I work at.   I watched many eager students rush from booth to booth, resumes in hand and so excited to meet with prospective employers.  Being there gave me clarity – I was reminded of the fact that I market to real people – people with families, ambitions, and their own stories to tell.  It gave me the chance to connect again with my audience and see the value in what we do.  Somehow, in the sea of all that I was doing, it was so easy to lose touch with that.

Ray Kroc Quote

So that was my lesson of the week – an important one no less that I hope to carry with me down this marketing journey of mine.

Follow me on Twitter and Google+.

 

Leave a Reply

